Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

Roanoke, VA, April 23, 2015 – The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute elected new officers for 2015-2016 during the annual conference in Roanoke last week. The following sheriffs were elected to the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute Board of Directors as board members and officers:

Board Members: Sheriff James E. Brown, III, City of Charlottesville; Sheriff Mark A. Amos, Orange County; Sheriff Mark A. Marshall, Isle of Wight County; and Sheriff Barry E. Letterman, Appomattox County.

Officers: Treasurer – Michael S. Mondul, City of Danville; Secretary – Sheriff James R. Edwards, Greensville County; Vice-President – Javier J. Smith, Charles City County; and President – Sheriff C.O. Balderson, Westmoreland County.

“The sheriffs serving on the board and as officers of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute command the deepest respect from their peers from across the Commonwealth,” said John W. Jones, Executive Director of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute. “It speaks very highly of a sheriff to have been elected to the Board of Directors and as an officer of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute.”

The term for service for the respective sheriffs serving on the Board of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute or as an officer is for one (1) year.

The sheriffs were elected to their respective offices at the annual meeting of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute which was attended by more than 200 sheriffs and deputy sheriffs across Virginia. The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute currently has some 25,214 citizen associate members that support the activities of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute.