Board of Directors

Meet the distinguished leadership board of VSI

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute (VSI) Board has been served by many dedicated sheriffs over the years. The VSI Board of Directors consists of nine sheriffs who are elected at the VSI annual spring meeting.

Governing policies are decided by the President and members of the Board of Directors during the annual conference. The VSI Board is responsible for approval of the VSI annual budget and work plan and serves as the policy making, governing body of the Institute.

Board of Directors 2023-2024


Sheriff Michael W. Taylor
Pittsylvania County

Immediate Past President:

Sheriff Karl S. Leonard
Chesterfield County

First Vice President:

Sheriff J. J. McLaughlin, Jr.
New Kent County


Sheriff Ernest L. Giles, Sr.
Sussex County


Sheriff April M. Staton
City of Salem

Board Members:

Sheriff Jeremy D. Fleming
Dickenson County

Sheriff Darrell L. Hodges
Cumberland County

Sheriff Alisa A. Gregory
Henrico County

Sheriff Eric B. Hess
Fluvanna County

  • Crime Reports

    VSI Certification Program

    Professional Development of Virginia Sheriffs and Deputies. Learn More »

Sheriffs' Directory

View Entire Directory