Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The Madison County, Virginia Sheriff’s Office would like to thank the citizens of Madison County, Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT), the volunteers, the children, Dr. Brenda Tanner, and the Madison School System for their participation in the Second (2nd) Annual Safety Bike Rodeo.

As the saying goes in writing novels, “It was a dark and rainy night…… “. However, the morning clouds cleared and it was overcast from 9am until noon during the time of the rodeo and everyone had a good time. There were plenty of donated prizes along with the Harry Potter Moonbounce provided by generous groups and people. These were a hit with all. Toddlers to pre-teens received free bike helmets obtained through a grant from the Virginia Department of Health.  If one child is protected in a bicycle accident by wearing a helmet we are grateful to the Department of Health for their grant. Safety seat inspections were conducted by Deputy Drew Eanes, Bill Heflin and Jerry Butler.

Free popcorn was donated by the Rochelle Ruritan Club and served by two of their members, Linda and “J.L.” Taylor and was greatly appreciated. Rodeo volunteers included Jane Gray and her husband, Michael, both bicycle enthusiasts who both kept things running smoothly. Other important volunteers were Bill Heflin from the Brightwood Ruritan Club, Barry Penn-Holler, Michael Stumph, John Berry, James Art, Erin Weaver, Robert Roberts, Karen Roberts Robin Murray, Bob Young, Leilani Stanley, Bill Eanes, Drew Eanes, Chris Hammersley, Judy Butler, Randy Jenkins, Jim Long, Jimmy Frye, Jeff Farry, Jason Farry  and all of his fellow scouts who did not sign the volunteer list.

There were plenty of prizes and the first place winner was Madeline Aylor of Williamsburg Pike with the highest score of ten. The next score lower had fourteen people who tied. As a result a drawing was held for the next winners who were Leah Henshaw, Amber Carpenter, Aaron and Peyton Henshaw, and Hunter Aylor. A total of three step stools were awarded as prizes with all being beautifully handmade by Journey Beasley and his wife, Julie Beasley. Other high score persons who received prizes were Kevin Shifflette, Jr., Josh Cianciotti, Braxden Sisson, Wendall Yoder, Melanie Yoder, Sharlene Yoder, Jessica Hammersley, Hadley McLain, and Jason Yoder.

Thank all of you for making this such a fun day for the children and let’s make it bigger and better for the 3rd Annual Safety Bike Rodeo to be held during the summer of 2010.