Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

Newport News, Virginia, September 20, 2010 – The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association elected new officers for 2010/2011. Elected as Treasurer, Sheriff John “Jack” Weisenburger, City of Bristol; Secretary, Sheriff Stephen O. Simpson, Loudoun County; Second Vice President, Sheriff Beth Arthur, Arlington County; First Vice President, Sheriff Danny Diggs, York County-Poquoson; and President, Sheriff Ryant L. Washington of Fluvanna County. Sheriffs elected as officers will serve a one-year term leading the 7,700 member organization.

The Annual Conference of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association was held in Newport, Virginia and was attended by over 350 sheriffs, deputy sheriffs and special guests from across Virginia. Also represented at the conference were over 80 professional exhibitors displaying the latest crime-fighting equipment. Keynote speakers included representatives from the Virginia House of Delegates and the Virginia Senate.

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association acts as the primary voice for Virginia sheriffs in the General Assembly and presently enjoys membership of over 7,700 Virginia sheriffs and deputy sheriffs. The conference in Newport News, Virginia represents the 77th Annual Conference of the Association.