Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

2016 Frederick County accreditationVirginia Law Enforcement Professional Standard Commission (VLEPSC) has re-accredited the Frederick County Sheriff’s Office. On August 16, 2016, the Board of VLEPSC reviewed the audit from the audit committee and agreed with the recommendations presented.

The Frederick County Sheriff’s Office achieved its initial accreditation in July 2008 under the leadership of Sheriff Robert T. Williamson. The office earned its first re-accreditation in July 2012.

Sheriff Lenny Millholland leads the Frederick County Sheriff’s Office along with Major Steve Hawkins who serves as second in command. The agency is comprised of 135 sworn positions and 9 civilian support personnel. The assessment team, consisting of three trained assessors, reviewed 190 standards that are required per the accreditation standards of the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission. There were no returns or waivers. There will be another re-assessment in four years.

Sheriff Millholland commends Captain Aleck Beeman and Lieutenant Tonya Kittoe for their tireless work in overseeing the office’s accreditation policies and procedures. Citizens expect their sheriff’s office to be the best that it can be. It is important for the law enforcement profession that agencies have been scrutinized by assessors whose job it is to make sure the they meet high standards.

The Frederick County Sheriff’s Office is a great organization with fine men and women who put their lives on the line every day for the citizens they serve.