Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The members of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute elected new officers for 2017-18 during the spring conference in Norfolk today. The following sheriffs were elected to the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute Board of Directors as officers and board members:

  • President – Sheriff Michael S. Mondul, City of Danville
  • Immediate Past President – Sheriff C.O. Balderson, Westmoreland County
  • Vice-President – Sheriff Barry E. Letterman, Appomattox County
  • Secretary – Sheriff James E. Brown, III, City of Charlottesville
  • Treasurer – Sheriff Mark A. Amos, Orange County
  • Sheriff Karl S. Leonard, Chesterfield County
  • Sheriff Sam C. Brown, City of Emporia
  • Sheriff Mark A. Marshall, Isle of Wight County
  • Sheriff Les R. Taylor, City of Winchester

“The sheriffs serving on the board and as officers of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute command the deepest respect from their peers from across the Commonwealth,” said John W. Jones, Executive Director of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute. “It speaks very highly of a sheriff to have been elected to the Board of Directors and as an officer of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute.”

The term for service for the respective sheriffs serving on the Board of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute or as an officer is for one (1) year.

The sheriffs were elected to their respective offices at the annual meeting of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute, which was attended by more than 250 sheriffs and deputy sheriffs across Virginia. The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute currently has some 28,000 citizen associate members that support the activities of the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute.