Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Association (VSA) Board of Directors is proud to announce the appointment of two of its members to the Virginia Law Enforcement Professional Standards Commission (VLEPSC).

Newport News Sheriff Gabe Morgan, who also serves as VSA President, and Fairfax County Sheriff Stacey Kincaid each began serving a three-year term beginning on June 1, 2017.

“I am honored to have been selected to continue to serve on the VLEPSC,” said Sheriff Morgan. “The work of this commission is vital to ensuring the professionalism and high standards of law enforcement agencies throughout the Commonwealth.”

“When law enforcement agencies hold themselves to the highest professional standards set by VLEPSC, the communities that we serve benefit tremendously,” said Sheriff Kincaid. “I look forward to serving on the commission and ensuring that the standards continue to reflect best practices and emerging trends in our field.”

VLEPSC is comprised of representatives from the VSA, the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police and the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS). Executive board members consisting of active sheriffs and chiefs of police establish professional standards and administer the accreditation process by which Virginia agencies can be systematically measured, evaluated and updated. DCJS manages the day-to-day operations for the Commission.

The commission’s goals include the following: increase the effectiveness and efficiency of law enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth through the delivery of services; promote cooperation among all components in the criminal justice system; ensure the appropriate level of training for law enforcement personnel; promote public confidence in law enforcement; and promote the professionalism of law enforcement agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia.