Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute is honored to have presented awards and special recognitions to a number of tremendous individuals from across the Commonwealth of Virginia during the 2022 VSI Spring Conference.


Senator Lynwood Lewis was named Legislator of the Year for 2021. This award is given annually to a legislator for outstanding legislative service for the improvement of law enforcement and criminal justice in the Commonwealth of Virginia. John Jones, Executive Director, Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute, Accomack County Sheriff Todd Wessells, Northampton County Sheriff David Doughty, Jr., and City of Norfolk Sheriff Joe Baron presented Senator Lewis with the Legislator of the Year Award.

(Left to right: John Jones, Sheriff David Doughty, Senator Lynwood Lewis, Sheriff Todd Wessells, Sheriff Joe Baron)


Senator Joe Morrissey and Delegate Kim Taylor proudly recognized Sheriff Vanessa Crawford of the Petersburg Sheriff’s Office as the National Sheriffs’ Association’s Ferris E. Lucas – Sheriff of the Year. Sheriff Crawford is the first female and the only African American to be selected for the award in its 27 year history. The NSA established the Ferris E. Lucas award in 1995 to recognize leaders for their contributions made to improve the Office of Sheriff on the local, state and national level.

(Left to right: Sheriff Vanessa Crawford, Senator Joe Morrissey, Delegate Kim Taylor, John Jones)


Delegate Keith Hodges, along with Essex County Sheriff Arnie Holmes, presented a special resolution passed by the General Assembly to retired Sheriff Stanley Clarke. Clarke was recognized for his 36 years in in law enforcement. Sheriff Clarke was elected as sheriff of Essex County in 1996 and served in that role for 22 years. Delegate Hodges, members of Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute, and conference attendees joined in recognizing retired Sheriff Clarke’s service to the community and across the Commonwealth as a dedicated law enforcement officer.

(Left to right: Sheriff Arnie Holmes, Retired Sheriff Stanley Clarke, Delegate Keith Hodges)