Skip to content
Virginia Sheriffs' Institute
Supporting Virginia’s Sheriffs & Deputies

Williamsburg, VA – The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute is pleased to recognize the 2024 class of the VSI Certification Program during the 2024 VSI Spring Conference. The program promotes, recognizes and elevates the continued individual professional development of Virginia’s sheriffs and deputies. Sheriffs and deputies serving in the Commonwealth of Virginia carry immense responsibilities as the guardians of their communities, providing effective public safety services balanced with the fair and equitable treatment of every individual they encounter.


“I am honored to be a part of the VSI Certification Program and offer my congratulations to the 24 men and women who have completed it and to the 13 who were recertified this year,” said Pittsylvania County Sheriff Mike Taylor, VSIC, President, Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute. “Each member of this year’s class has demonstrated a deep personal dedication to professional development, exemplifying professionalism and a commitment to instilling confidence in the public safety function of communities across Virginia. I strongly encourage my fellow Virginia sheriffs and their deputies to take part in the upcoming VSI Certification Program to learn new skills, attend additional training, and further their education above and beyond the core requirements of their position.”


Members of the 2024 class include:


Captain Darnell Black, Petersburg Sheriff’s Office

Captain Robert Brown, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Deputy Russell Cyphers, Wise County Sheriff’s Office

Sergeant Lawrence DiBella, III, Spotsylvania County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Jeremy Falls, Fauquier County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Jon “Scott” Foster, Fredericksburg Sheriff’s Office
2nd Lieutenant Jeffrey Haig, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Captain Jonathan Hankins, Tazewell County Sheriff’s Office

Lieutenant Andrew “Brad” Johnson, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Sergeant Nicholas Kugler, Accomack County Sheriff’s Office

Captain Timothy Lansberry, Page County Sheriff’s Office

Captain Dustin Lowe, Louisa County Sheriff’s Office

Major James Murphy, City of Roanoke Sheriff’s Office

Captain Deatria Muse, City of Roanoke Sheriff’s Office

Major Lowell Nevill, Fauquier County Sheriff’s Office

Captain Charles Sanders, II, Wise County Sheriff’s Office

Detective Ryan Schmidt, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Steven Smith, Greene County Sheriff’s Office

Captain Danny Smith, Powhatan County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff April Staton, Salem Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Arthur Townsend, Jr., Lunenburg County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy First Class Gloria Turin, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Senior Deputy Jacob Wright, Norfolk Sheriff’s Office

Major Michael Zeets, Fauquier County Sheriff’s Office


The Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute would also like to recognize those that achieved recertification this year. Those include:


Sheriff Joseph Baron, Norfolk Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff James Brown, III, Charlottesville Sheriff’s Office

Major Thomas Carter, Lynchburg Sheriff’s Office

1st Lieutenant Milton Castelle, II, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Metin Cay, Falls Church Sheriff’s Office

Major David Hill, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Karl Leonard, Chesterfield County Sheriff’s Office

Colonel Michael O’Toole, Norfolk Sheriff’s Office

Detective Austin Schwartz, Powhatan County Sheriff’s Office

Chief Deputy Jeffery Searfoss, Powhatan County Sheriff’s Office

Sheriff Donald Sloan, Lynchburg Sheriff’s Office

Lieutenant Laurence Vermeer, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office

Major Thomas West, York County-Poquoson Sheriff’s Office


The VSI Certification Program was developed by the Virginia Sheriffs’ Institute (VSI) in cooperation with the Virginia Sheriffs’ Association (VSA), the Performance Management Group at the L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs at the Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) and the National Center for Policing Innovation (NCPI).


For more information, please visit